Thursday, June 13, 2024
BoatsDestinations and LocationsElectric BoatsLeisure MarinePower Boats

Boat Licence – Obtaining an International Certificate of Competence (ICC)

International Boat Licence - International Certificate of Competence (ICC)

If you’re a boat owner or aspiring skipper in the UK, the International Certificate of Competence (ICC) stands as a pivotal credential.

The ICC is more than a mere piece of paper; it’s a gateway to international waters. This certification is recognized worldwide as a testament to your ability to operate a pleasure craft in a safe and proficient manner.

Eligibility and Application Process

Obtaining an ICC in the UK involves a systematic process. First, you need to possess a suitable level of competence, usually demonstrated through recognized RYA (Royal Yachting Association) courses. If you’re not a UK citizen, you should hold residence or be a national of a country that has ratified the UN Convention on the Law of the Sea.

RYA Yachtmaster™ Certificates

One of the most prominent qualifications that automatically qualify individuals for an ICC is the RYA Yachtmaster™ certificate.

Powerboat Level 2 and Safety Boat Certificates

The RYA Powerboat Level 2 certificate and RYA Safety Boat certificate qualify individuals to skipper boats up to 10m.

Inland Waters License Holders

Individuals who possess licenses qualifying them to operate vessels on inland waters, such as the European inland waterways license (CEVNI), are also eligible for the automatic issuance of an ICC.

Countries Under ICC Resolution No. 40

It is important to note that certain countries have signed ICC Resolution No. 40, which recognizes the ICC as evidence of competence. These countries have recognized the value of the ICC and its role in fostering safe and responsible boating practices. Here are the countries that have signed ICC Resolution No. 40:

  • Austria
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Czech Republic
  • Finland
  • Germany
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Romania
  • Serbia
  • Slovakia
  • South Africa
  • Switzerland
  • Ukraine
  • United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

Interesting Topics